Food Jabber

:Original raster version: :Image:Food and Drug...

Image via Wikipedia

I was reading the L.A. Times and discovered an article regarding a food safety bill that passed by the Senate.  The Food Safety and Modernization Act would require improved planning and record-keeping by food producers and would give the Food and Drug Administration the authority to recall contaminated food under its own authority, without needing cooperation from the industries.

Personally, it looks like this would save a lot of people trouble with food borne illnesses, especially since there have been many outbreaks recently.  This would also, however, be a major shift for the FDA and may be a scary place for industries as they lose power.  The House still has to make a decision regarding the bill, but already has support from President Obama.

As for the article itself, I was pleased with the information provided.  Although it did not dig into the nature of the bill until later, I received adequate knowledge of what it was about and what was being done.  The individuals interviewed were credible to the topic and had valuable insights.  The author also did a great job of removing personal bias about the bill and represented both sides amiably.

About misstiana

I am a Liberal Studies major at Vanguard University. This is my fourth and final year of study as an undergraduate. It is my aspiration to become an exciting and effective educator for the public elementary school as quickly as possible. I consider myself to be very multifaceted. I dabble in several differing hobbies and love learning new ones. I spend my time doing anything from studying, reading, and cooking to solving Rubix cubes, playing video games, and making friendship bracelets. I am a child at heart and enjoy the little things in life. There is nothing like sipping a good cup of coffee and a good laugh to make the day a bit brighter.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment